French German Italian Russian
-A A +A

Clerk - Marriage Information

A California Marriage License is valid for use in the state of California only. Only unmarried persons may purchase a license to marry in California. There is no residency requirement or waiting period between the purchase of a marriage license and the ceremony. A marriage license is valid for 90 days from the date of purchase, which means that the couple must have a ceremony within those 90 days. State statutes provide that first cousins may legally marry in California.

California Marriage Requirements:

  • No blood tests are required
  • You do not have to be a California resident to marry in California.
  • There is no waiting period between receipt of a marriage license and the ceremony.
  • No particular format for a ceremony is required.
  • First cousins may marry in California.
  • Only unmarried persons may purchase a license to marry in California.
  • "Common Law" marriage or marriage by "proxy" is not allowed in California.

The Name Equality Act of 2007 allows one or both applicants for a California marriage license to elect to change the middle and/or last names by which each party wishes to be known after solemnization of the marriage. What you should know before applying for your marriage license. Additional Information about the Name Equality Act of 2007.

There are two types of marriage licenses available through the Siskiyou County Clerk's Office:

Public Marriage License

This document is a public record and filed with the County Recorder's Office and the State of California. This license can be used throughout the State of California. FEE: $71.00 - cash or money order is preferred.  If paying with a personal check, the license cannot be issued until the check clears, typically 5-10 business days.

Requirements to Purchase a Public Marriage License:

  1. Both parties must appear in person in the Clerk's Office at the same time to purchase the license.
  2. Must be 18 years or older.
  3. Present valid photo ID with birth date on it, such as a drivers license.
  4. If a previous marriage has ended in the prior 12 months, provide paperwork verifying date the marriage ended.

Confidential Marriage License

This document is not a public record and is filed in the County Clerk's Office. Access to the record is limited to the parties of the marriage or by order of the Superior Court.  FEE: $78.00 - cash or money order is preferred.  If paying with a personal check, the license cannot be issued until the check clears, typically 5-10 business days.

Requirements to Purchase a Confidential Marriage License:

  1. Couple must be living together as a married couple.
  2. Both parties must appear in person in the Clerk's Office at the same time to purchase license.
  3. Must be 18 years or older.
  4. Present valid photo ID with birth date on it, such as a drivers license.
  5. If a previous marriage has ended in the prior 12 months, provide paperwork verifying date the marriage ended.

Certified Copy of Confidential Marriage License

A certified copy of this document may be obtained only by a party to the marriage or by order of the Superior Court. Either party to the confidential marriage may obtain a certified copy from the County Clerk's Office by doing one of the following:

  1. Completing the original application for the certified copy provided at the time the marriage license was issued and mailing it with the required fee of $15.00 to the Siskiyou County Clerk's Office, 510 N. Main Street, Yreka, CA 96097.  If paying with a personal check, allow 5-10 business days for the check to clear before the certified copy is mailed.
  2. Appearing in person at the County Clerk's Office, filling out the request form, providing valid photo identification, and paying the fee of $15.00.
  3. If unable to appear in person and unable to use the original application for the certified copy--application can be found in the resource center below, a person may appear before a Notary Public or County Clerk in his or her county of residence with proper identification and obtain a Certificate Attesting to Identity. Mail the certificate, together with a written request for the certified copy and the fee of $15.00 to the Siskiyou County Clerk's Office, 510 N. Main Street, Yreka, CA 96097.

Marriage License Information for Persons Under Age 18:

Contact the County Clerk's Office at 530-842-8084 for information about marriage licenses for persons under the age of 18.

Civil Marriage Ceremony

Staff from the County Clerk's Office is available on Friday afternoons to officiate at civil marriage ceremonies. An appointment for a marriage ceremony is required and can be arranged by calling the Clerk's Office at 530-842-8084. FEE: $66.00 - cash or money order only

Deputy Commissioner of Civil Marriages:

This commission provides for a person over the age of 18 to be deputized by the Siskiyou County Clerk's Office to preside at one civil marriage ceremony. An appointment to be deputized is required and can be arranged by calling the Clerk's Office at 530-842-8084. FEE: $75.00